HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Switching to the HDX (Read 482 times)
May 30th, 2018 at 10:07am

Bruce P   Offline
Frequent Poster
I love flying!

I have been flying my RV-10 with dual Dynon screens for over two years and am very happy with it.  Currently am about ready to buy  a new Dynon for my new Rans S-20.  My plan is to buy new HDX screens and a complete system.  The HDX will go into the -10 and the Classic screens in the S-20.

The issue is the massive number of hard earned settings that are in the classic that need to go to the HDX and the reverse of removing them and putting in the correct ones for the Rans in the classic.  It would prevent the Rans stall warning from going off at 70 knots on the first flight!

I asked support if there is a single file or files that contain all the data, but they said yes and no, it is there but not in one file and well mixed with other things.

I would love to see Dynon produce a "menue tree" of both systems that lists the user entered or flight test settings under each part of that tree.  It would make a great appendix in the manual.   Then you could go thru the whole thing and write down what is there and put it into the new system.  Also you could clear out the old settings.

I realize that all the answers exists in the pages of the manual, all 1.5" of it, but it sure would make life easier to convert to the new system.

I would like to hear from others that have done similar.

IP Logged

Reply #1 - May 30th, 2018 at 1:18pm

RayInGA   Offline
Expert
I love aviation!
Richmond Hill, GA

I hope to upgrade some day, after getting to IFR capability. I assumed it was as easy as plugging one screen at a time into the plane, let it copy from the other screen, then repeat. There is a setting in the config that essentially tells the system that it is a new screen and it should copy from the other (don't recall exact details but it's in a thread here somewhere).